SAFC Vision and Mission Statement

    SAFC Vision and Mission

    The vision statement of the Saskatchewan Association of Fire Chiefs is that the SAFC continuously strives to be the voice and leadership for the Fire Service in the province of Saskatchewan.


    The mission of the Saskatchewan Association of Fire Chiefs shall be to provide our member Fire and Emergency Service colleagues with information and education to better serve our communities; while maintaining the highest ethical and professional standards.



    1906 - 1914

    Fire chiefs from the Great Lakes to the Rocky Mountains formed the Western Canadian Fireman's Association at a meeting in Brandon, Manitoba on August 1, 1906. Fire Chief E.G. Wishwell of Brandon was elected President

    December 1 - 2, 1930

    A.F. (Arthur) Fisher was elected President of the Saskatchewan Fire Chiefs Association at a meeting hosted by the Saskatchewan Provincial Fire Commissioner at the Hotel Saskatchewan in Regina.

    July, 1931 The first convention was held in Regina

    There are no more records of meetings until January 6, 1942. At this time a conference of Saskatchewan Fire Chiefs was held in Regina at the Kitchener Hotel, attended by Arthur Fisher Provincial Fire Commissioner and Superintendent of Insurance - Government of Saskatchewan, Fire Chiefs from Regina, Saskatoon, Moose Jaw, Swift Current, Battleford, Prince Albert, Weyburn, Yorkton and military personnel in charge of firefighting at the military bases in the above named cities.

    1944 - 1949

    Fire Chiefs from across Canada were meeting at the Dominion Fire Chiefs conferences.


    January 1950

    At the request of several fire chiefs to the Saskatchewan Provincial Fire Commissioner R.E Tiffin, a two-day meeting was held in the Office of the Fire Commissioner, 1844 Lorne Street, Regina. At this meeting the present Saskatchewan Association of Fire Chiefs was formed with Saskatoon Fire Chief Tom Lennon elected as President.

    The Saskatchewan Association of Fire Chief's was formed as a forum for fire chiefs to exchange information and to lobby with one voice for the needs of the Fire Service in Saskatchewan. From this humble beginning, the Association has grown into a highly respected organization with membership representing fire chiefs from the smallest to the largest fire departments in the province.

    Today, the SAFC offers seminars for fire officers on various topics, advocacy for the interests of the members, awards for excellence in the fire service, support of fire safety initiatives and is the lead developer of the development of the Province-wide Telecommunications program as well as being a leader in the development of the Province-Wide 9-1-1 system.


    For Medal Mounting Mounting

    Keith Inches
    2857 Garnet Street
    Regina SK S4S 1X1
    Phone: (306) 586-8198

    Mr. Paul Silvey
    1133 Warner Street
    Moose Jaw SK S6H 6J8
    Phone: (306) 694-5635

    Contact Us

    Word Verification:
    Saskatchewan Association of Fire Chiefs © 2019 Privacy Policy Terms Of Use

    We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

      I accept cookies from this site.
    EU Cookie Directive Module Information